Sea Salt

We are 90% done with our master bedroom renovation!  The only things left to do are: install new flooring, build a sliding barn door for our closet, and add a custom shelving system for our closet 🙂

We have come a long way.  When we first moved in, the bedroom was painted a blah beige color.  If I was a professional paint namer (can I have that job, please??) I would have called it Uninspired.  There was also a cheap white ceiling fan, brass hardware on the doors, and a purple ceiling.  Yes, PURPLE!  The previous owners had poorly painted over it, so we could see purple peeking out in various spots all over the room.

Our to do list included:

Paint walls (SW Sea Salt – love this color!)
Paint trim
Paint doors
Paint ceiling
Replace light fixture (the chandelier was a birthday gift from my mom)
Replace door knob
Replace door hinges
Replace outlets (the old ones were covered in paint)
Replace switches
Add dimmer

Replace blinds (the old ones had purple paint splatters on them!)
Replace smoke detector
Add a doorstopper

Unfortunately, I forgot to take a before picture.  Here is the after:

Our master bedroom
Nightstand, painted with new hardware
Glass knob
Dresser, painted and restained with new hardware

I just love how it turned out.  My favorite part is the chandelier.  Our night stands were purchased on craigslist for $30 I believe, and I repainted them and added some glass knobs.  The dresser was given to us by my sister and brother-in-law for free.  I refinished the top and painted the bottom, giving it new life with some new hardware.

We decided to build a sliding barn door to give us more room in our closet, so I will create a separate post when we start working on that project.  I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

