Living my Best Life

I have lost 27 pounds this year.  I have also gained 1 walking buddy for weekdays (one of my neighbors) and another walking buddy for weekends (my husband <3)  Eating healthy and making exercise a priority has really helped give me some of my confidence back.  I feel healthier, stronger, and have more energy to do the things that are important to me.

For a long time I avoided social situations because of my weight.  I was depressed, miserable, and ashamed of myself.  I had just moved to a new state with my husband and I knew no one–so I turned to food for comfort.  Before I knew it, I gained almost 100 pounds.  I would tell myself “once I lose weight I’ll try to meet new friends.”  Well that didn’t happen, and I just spiraled even more into a deep depression.  It took a long time, but I’m beginning to understand that weight should NOT dictate how I live my life.  I don’t have to wait until I have a Victoria’s Secret model body to go to a social event.  (Plus, Victoria’s Secret models don’t even have those bodies in real life!)

I also started counseling, which has done incredible things for me.  I learned how to identify some thought processes that were particularly damaging and how to correct my way of thinking. I didn’t realize it, but I was my own worst enemy.  I brought myself down more than anyone else ever could.

Don’t get me wrong, I still struggle.  There are times I miss workouts.  Sometimes I cave in and order pizza.  And dessert.  The difference now is that I refuse to give up.

I hope this helps someone out there.  Self love is so powerful.

Until next time….Cheers 😉

 

Leave a Reply

